Rain Delays the Start of Local Racing in Nashville


Nashville, TN (Saturday, September 12, 2020) – On a night where fans and drivers prepared for an exciting evening of racing, Mother Nature made an appearance at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway, bringing rain during the first round of practice, lasting until nearly 6:30 pm.  This marked the first time in 2020 that rain appeared before the races were completed in Nashville, but the determined officials and drivers at the track ensured the night would go on.


After the rain delay, the night’s schedule of events was rearranged to provide the best show the track could provide in a timely manner. That meant the Pest Doctor Front Runners would kick off the night. At the top of the Championship Points Standings is Daniel Harper, and he found Nashville Winner Circle again Saturday night, besting Jessie Litchford by nearly two seconds.


For the BH Holmes Legends, Justin Maxwell inherited the lead early on when Oliver Cordell and Rookie Boston Oliver collided going into turns three and four. The pair would subsequently go to the tail of the race, and Maxwell led the rest of the way. Heading into the night, Bryson Shaffer had a 12 point lead over Oliver, which is not expected to change much following Shaffer’s fifth-place finish.


In Street Stock action, Carl Porter, Jr made it know he remembered the way to the Winner Circle after holding off a charge from Larry Cunningham after a late-race caution. The win is the second this season dating back to opening night on July 4th.


Pure Stocks were paced by a familiar face with Phillip McCord racing his way to the win for the third time this season. The win further pads McCord’s lead over Josh Hood, who finished third. Zach Honaker had a strong run finishing second, just one night after hitting the turn four wall during his practice run.


An excitable Aidan Potter found the Winner Circle for the second time this season in the Dye Hard Hair Salon Bandoleros. Potter took advantage of an ill-handling Austin Harrison at the halfway point of the race before driving into the sunset with the win. The win will hand the Championship Points lead to Potter who came into the night tied with Harrison.


The final event on the ¼-mile oval featured the Limited Late Models and Jeff Belt, who did what he needed to do in order to stretch his 2020 Points lead over Jonathan Dishman. Belt worked his way around Kevin Rollins in an effort to find the Winner Circle for the third time this season.


The Whelen Super Trucks hit the 5/8ths for their 20-lap feature to kick off racing on the “Big Track”. Tanner Arms did his best to put distance between he and last place starting John Burns both on track and in the points battle. Arms held on for the win with Burns right behind him – the win is Arms second on the season.


The nightcap featured 100 laps of Pro Late Model action. The race began with a moment of silence prior to the command to fire engines in memory of Hal Musler. The field also paced the Speedway in a missing man formation in Musler’s honor. When the green was displayed, action was hot and heavy all across the track.


It began on lap one when race leader Hunter Wright made contact with Championship Points leader Dylan Fetcho at the exit of turn four to put lap one in the books. Contact from other competitors led to much bigger problems just 12 laps later.


Exiting turn two, an accident was triggered that resulted in a five-car pile-up – in the most literal sense of the phrase. When the smoke cleared, Mike Murray found his car on top of the pile that also included Dylan Jones, Micheal House, Garrett Dies, and Dylan Jones. All drivers were fine after the crash which triggered an over 30-minute red flag for cleanup.


After the race resumed, the on-track action was clean and green the rest of the way. Wright fired off and did his best to keep former track champion, Cole Williams, at bay, and did so right up until the pair caught lapped traffic. Williams officially took the top spot on lap 64, never looking back en route to his second win of the season.


The next event at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway kicks off a massive month of October, beginning on Saturday, October 3rd during Breast Cancer Awareness Night presented by Ford Lincoln of Franklin. Find more NFS content including a full schedule, ticket info and more at nashvillefairgroundsspeedway.racing. Search Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway on Facebook and follow on Twitter @RaceFairgrounds.


Unofficial Results:


Pest Doctor Front Runners


1 95 Daniel Harper 25
2 58 Jessie Litchford 25
3 25 Josh Garvin 25
4 711 Justin Martin 25
5 18 Tony Gann 25
6 33 Hardy Krantz Jr. 24
7 A1 Paul Cummings 24
8 2 Tony Signoracci 5 DNF – Mechanical


BH Homes Legends


1 20 Justin Maxwell 25
2 89 Dylan Fetcho 25
3 79 Austin Farr 25
4 17 Oliver Cordell 25
5 12 Bryson Shaffer 25
6 38 Galen Clark 25
7 07 Travis Oliver 25
8 88 Boston Oliver 25
9 27 Kyle Smithson 24
10 4 Wayne Grubb DNS
11 04 Colby Hixson DNS
12 117 Tyler Cordell DNS


Street Stocks


1 465 Carl Porter Jr. 20
2 2 Larry Cunningham 20
3 68 Carl Porter Sr. 20
4 67 Brian Frazier 20
5 05 Brittany Climer 20


Pure Stocks


1 282 Phillip McCord 20
2 73 Zach Honaker 20
3 08H Josh Hood 20
4 1 Bobby Joe Rippey 20
5 08J Ronnie Upchurch 20
6 77 Dustin Williams 20
7 43 Paul McCarthy 19
8 21 Ricky McIllwain 2 DNF – Mechanical


Limited Late Models


1 05 Jeffrey Belt 30
2 93 Kevin Rollins 30
3 19P Peyton Hamlett 30
4 67 Johnathan Dishman 30
5 9 Jim Jordan 30
6 52 Dwayne Hudson 30
7 4 Jeff Templeton 29
8 87 Jeremy Burns 29
9 3 Travis Arms 29
10 60 Richard Hargrove 29
11 8 Terry Vickers 25
12 55 Dalton Hamlett DNS


Whelen Super Trucks


1 8 Tanner Arms 20
2 87 John Burns 20
3 9 Frank Bauer 20
4 28 Larry Deal 20
5 48 Howard Tucker 20
6 41 Philip Hill 20
7 22 Will Raney 6 DNF Speed Infraction


Pro Late Models


1 46 Cole Williams 100
2 89 Dylan Fetcho 100
3 29 Hunter Wright 100
4 84 Mason Mingus 100
5 26 Howie DiSavino III 100
6 62 William Hale 100
7 09 Daniel Bolden 100
8 11 Stacey Crain 100
9 20 Chase Johnson 99
10 9 Michael Bolden 98
11 63 Tracey Green 91
12 16 Billy Sisco 13 DNF – Accident
13 41 Dylan Jones 13 DNF – Accident
14 1 Michael House 13 DNF – Accident
15 114 Mike Murray III 13 DNF – Accident
16 55 Bennie Hamlett 13 DNF – Accident
17 27D Garrett Dies 13 DNF – Accident
18 01 Austin Wilson 7 DNF – Clutch
19 14 Davey Coble DNS


By: Zach Hiser – Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway 

Photo: Paradigm Racing