Special from Speed51.com: Nashville, TN (Sunday, July 5, 2020) – Saturday night saw a return to racing at the famous Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway and a return to form for young Cole Williams. The former track champion is no stranger to the famous half-mile oval, but on that night he made it his own, lapping 17 of 23 cars on his way to winning the 100-lap Pro Late Model season opener.


“We weren’t sure what this thing would do,” Williams said post-race on Speed51. “It’s a completely different package than we’ve ever ran here. So, we’ve kind of worked on this thing more and more this year to improve it a little bit over last year. We kind of struggled with it but we’re slowly getting there. We still have a little bit before we get to the Masters [of the Pros]. But, we’re getting there and I just can’t thank these guys enough.”


Tennessee native, Davey Coble finished second in his No. 14 machine after leading early.


“The car was really good,” said Coble.“ I just gotta thank all my fans and everybody who helps out with this car. Just a bunch of old country boys giving it everything they got. We’re a pretty low budget team.

“Man, just really happy with the run. Just a bunch of us in the garage. Just a bunch of buddies. Anytime you run second to somebody like Cole it’s a good night. We’ll be back. We just have to advance one spot.”


Nearby Lebanon, Tennessee’s Dylan Fetcho finished third on the evening.


A full on-demand video replay of Saturday’s Pro Late Model 100 broadcast from Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway can be viewed now on Speed51 by clicking here.


More coverage, including post-race highlights and interviews, will be available soon to monthly and yearly subscribers on Speed51.


-Story by: Allick Jorgensen, Speed51 National Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51


Pro Late Model 100 Unofficial Results

Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway (TN) – July 4, 2020

1. 46 – Cole Williams
2. 14 – Davey Coble
3. 89 – Dylan Fetcho
4. 09 – Daniel Bolden
5. 1 – Michael House
6. 29 – Hunter Wright
7. 62 – William Hale
8. 01 – Austin Wilson
9. 103 – Tandy Marlin
10. 55 – Bennie Hamlett
11. 27 – Garrett Dies
12. 20 – Chase Johnson
13. 27R – Joe Ross
14. 77 – Greg Fore
15. 59 – Bill Melvin
16. 16 – 8 – Mark Day
17. 48 – Mike Murray
18. 11 – Stacey Crain
19. 1B – Austin Brawley
20. 02 – Joey Strode
21. 84 – Mason Mingus
22. 9 – Michael Bolden
23. 12 – Christopher Tullis