Special from Speed51.com –

Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway kicks off its 2020 season on Saturday, July 4 with a jam-packed card of weekly racing, headlined by a 100-lap Pro Late Model feature.  To preview the upcoming race and season at the historic venue, we take a look “By the Numbers” at some of that history.




1: There has only been one repeat champion in the Pro Late Model division since 2012.  Cole Williams has won two track tittles at Nashville.


4: Other then this season opening race this weekend, there are four other planned races for the Pro Late Models, not counting the JEGS Master of the Pros event.  Nashville’s local division champions will be crowned as part of All American 400 weekend, currently scheduled for October 30-November 1.


4: Joe Buford is the only four-time track champion in the top division at Nashville.


8: There will be eight total features on Saturday night.  Super Trucks, Limited Late Models, Street Modifieds, Pure Stocks, Front Runners, Legends and Bandoleros join the Pro Late Models on Saturday’s program.


46: Cole Williams has committed to running the 2020 season in a quest for his third track title at the Nashville Fairground Speedway.  Williams could be only the fifth driver to win three titles on the high banks.


100: The main event on Saturday night will be 100 laps for the Pro Late Models.


280: Fans who log on to Speed51 will get to see 280-laps of racing across the racing card for just $10.  Click here to order your pay-per-view ticket now.


400: One big number that will always be associated with the Nashville Fairgrounds is 400.  The track is set to host the All American 400 again in November this year, and a handful of the Nashville regulars will try their luck at double-duty that weekend.


1958: Originally built as a dirt track in 1904, local racers built a paved race track at the Nashville Fairgrounds in 1958.


1969: What a year 1969 must have been, as the turns were banked at 35 degrees around the speedway.  The super-high banks only lasted one season and it was too fast and hard on cars.  In 1970 the banking was reduced to 18 degrees.


Nashville Track Champions 


2019 Jackson Boone

2018 Michael House

2017 Casey Roderick

2016 Cole Williams (2)

2015 Willie Allen

2014 Cole Williams

2013 Tucker Wingo

2012 Johnny Brazier

2011 Closed

2010 None

2009 Chevy White

2008 Andy Johnson

2007 Josh Adams

2006 Mark Day

2005 Wade Buttery (2)

2004 Wade Buttery

2003 Bo Miller

2002 Joe Buford (4)

2001 Jeff Letson

2000 Joe Buford (3)

1999 Joe Buford (2)

1998 Joe Buford

1997 Andy Kirby (3)

1996 Andy Kirby (2)

1995 Chad Chaffin (2)

1994 Andy Kirby

1993 Chad Chaffin

1992 Mike Alexander (2)

1991 Mike Reynolds

1990 Jeff Green

1989 Nick Formosa

1988 Bobby Hamilton (2)

1987 Bobby Hamilton

1986 Ricky Cruz

1985 Zillon Fellers

1984 Harold Ferguson

1983 Jerry Sisco

1982 Sterling Marlin (3)

1981 Sterling Marlin (2)

1980 Sterling Marlin

1979 Closed

1978 Mike Alexander

1977 Steve Spencer

1976 Alton Jones

1975 Walter Wallace (2)

1974 Jimmy Means

1973 Darrell Waltrip (2)

1972 James Buford (2)

1971 James Buford

1970 Darrell Waltrip

1969 David Sisco

1968 P.B. Crowley

1967 Walter Wallace

1966 Coo Coo Marlin (3)

1965 Coo Coo Marlin (2)

1964 Freddie Fryar

1963 Coo Coo Marlin

1962 Jimmy Griggs

1961 Malcom Brady

1960 Bobby Celsor

1959 Coo Coo Marlin

1958 Bob Reuther


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 photo