Nashville, TN (Thursday, August 26, 2021) – The committee members of the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway Hall of Fame (HoF) have secured the date for the 2021 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. The prestigious event will take place on Wednesday, October 27th at the Expo Center on the grounds of The Fairgrounds Nashville. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony serves as the official start of the 37th Running of the All American 400 Race Weekend.


“A tradition dating back for many years the traditional naming of inductees to the Hall of Fame at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway the week of the prestigious All American 400. The rich history of the storied speedway mixing history and racing tradition in a one-week timetable,” noted HoF committee member, Donnie Redd.


Last year’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held at the Big Machine Race Shop, behind Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway. The event was a huge success – So much so, that event organizers have decided to hold the 2021 ceremony in a larger venue. With contributions from The Fairgrounds Nashville, Big Machine Racing, and Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway, the Hall of Fame committee determined the Fairgrounds, the same grounds as the famed Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway, is the perfect place to hold this year’s event.


“So excited to move the induction ceremony for 2021 Hall of Fame at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway to a larger venue. The move will open the opportunity to previous inductees, crew members and fans to attend. Special thanks to Laura Womack, who shares our same enthusiasm,” says Gary Neal, committee member of the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway Hall of Fame.


Six distinguished members of the Nashville racing community will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Wednesday night, October the 27th.


Bennie Goodman & Mark Parrish 

Bennie Goodman and Mark Parrish teamed up with Bill Donoho in 1953 to form Nashville Speedway Inc., which eventually led to building what is now Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway. It was Goodman and Parrish who signed the first deal with Bill France Sr. to bring NASCAR-sanctioned races to Nashville.


Bobby Celsor 

Bobby Celsor had eight wins in the premier division on the half-mile track. The Hartsville native won the track championship in 1960. After that he added the 1963 championship at Huntsville (Alabama) Speedway.

Celsor competed against some of the strongest challengers ever at the Fairgrounds, including Coo Coo Marlin and his brother Jack, Bobby Allison and his brother Donnie, Bob Reuther, Red Farmer and P.B. Crowell. As late as 2007, Celsor was still competing in professional tractor pulls in Middle Tennessee at the age of 80.


Fulton Stutts

Fulton Stutts, a Nashville resident, had a lengthy career at the Fairgrounds that lasted from 1961-88. He was racecar owner and mechanic responsible for 46 feature wins at the Fairgrounds and 591 at all area tracks. Stutts’ drivers included James “The King” Climer, George Bennett, Donnie Kaylor, Paul “Fat Boy” Ryman and others.


James Buttrey

James Buttrey of Fairview, Tennessee once drove at the speedway, most known for his ability to maintain and crew chief. Buttrey has won multiple championships on the quarter mile and 5/8th high banked oval with drivers including, Wade Allen Buttrey, Bobby Buttrey, and Scott Borchetta.


Wade Allen Buttrey

Wade Allen Buttrey is a two time NASCAR Late Model Stock Car champion and two time Pro Mod champion at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway.


More information about the induction ceremony including ticketing will be announced in the coming weeks. To learn more about the Hall of Fame and their inductees, find “Hall of Fame at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway” on Facebook. To learn more about supporting the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway Hall of Fame, visit online.